Header Image


Staff at The Avenue all use the CPOMS electronic recording system to record safeguarding concerns.

All staff and Governors have read the most up to date Keeping Children Safe in Education document (2019).  We also encourage parents/carers to read the document.

The designated people for safeguarding at The Avenue are –

Mrs Emma Watson – Head Teacher

Miss Jayne Booth – Deputy Head Teacher

Additional members of the Safeguarding Team –

Miss Jaden Bytheway

Mrs Lucy Owens 

Miss Catherine Cockerill

These five members of staff have the Level 3 Designated Person qualification.

Please report any concerns you may have.

Parents/Carers – please go to the school office and speak to Miss Bytheway, who will speak to Miss Booth or Mrs Watson for further advice.

All advice and referrals go through MACH.

Multi Agency Children’s Hub (MACH) – 01642 130700, out of hours 01642 524552

MACH overview

Parents/Carers are also able to contact the service directly if they have any concerns.  See the link below to the website containing more detailed information.  


Safer Recruitment

We follow all the guidelines set out by Middlesbrough Council.

School staff and members of the Governing Body and Trust Board also trained in Safer Recruitment are:

  • Mrs Emma Watson
  • Miss Jayne Booth
  • Miss Jaden Bytheway
  • Mr Alan Cockerill
  • Mrs Ruth Parker
  • Mrs Sylvia Pinyoun
  • Mrs Angela Barnes

Covid-19 Latest Update

Following the Government announcement on Sunday regarding returning to school in June, please click here to view our latest information for EYFS, Year 1 and Year 6 pupils.